Riley McGree's A-League goal nominated for prestigious Puskas Award

Ruben Holloway
September 6, 2018

"In a year that was filled with drama, action and excitement across both the men's and women's game, The Best FIFA Football Awards 2018 look set to build on the success of 2017's event and return to London bigger and better than ever". But who will it be?

Portugal winger Ronaldo, the 2016 and 2017 victor, won a fifth Champions League title with Real Madrid in May before joining Juventus for £99m.

Salah has been a revelation for Liverpool, scoring 43 goals in all competitions last season for the Reds and helping to fire Jurgen Kloop's side to the Champions League final, where he was forced off after suffering a shoulder injury.

Kevin Spacey: LA prosecutors drop sexual assault charge
Prosecutors have also decided not to file charges against actors Steven Seagal and Anthony Anderson over alleged sex crimes. In October, actor Anthony Rapp said that in 1986, when Rapp was 14, Spacey made sexual advances toward him in a hotel room.

There was some consolation as Messi was name as one of the nominees for the Puskas award with his stunning strike for Argentina against Nigeria during this summer's World Cup.

Ronaldo is yet to get off the mark in three competitive outings for Juventus, while Messi has four goals already this term.

World Cup winning tactician Didier Deschamps has been nominated alongside Croatia's Zlatko Dalic and former Real Madrid boss Zinedine Zidane for the coach of the year award.

England squad announcement: Gareth Southgate names team for Spain and Switzerland matches
But Southgate says he would like "more competition" for the position - especially with Butland now playing in the Championship. Southgate said: "They have got to play in games where there are consequences if they do not win.

Federation Internationale de Football Association have closed an investigation into Inter Milan and their pursuit of Luka Modric this summer since they say there are no grounds to continue.

Barcelona have not won the Champions League since 2015 after crashing out in the quarter-finals in each of the past three seasons.

The Best FIFA Goalkeeper Award will be contested between a trio who shone in Russian Federation, namely Belgium's Thibaut Courtois, France's Hugo Lloris and Denmark's Kasper Schmeichel.

US Open officials regret dress code violation levied on Alize Cornet
Open medical team, the Extreme Heat Policy will be implemented immediately for men's matches", the USTA said in a statement. Women have to abide by a different set of rules. "All players can change their shirts while sitting in the player chair".

The three coaches in contention for the women's game award are: Asako Takakura, who led Japan to the Asian Games title last week, Reynald Pedros of France and Sarina Wiegman of the Netherlands.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article